About Us

History of MABCA

In 1967, David Rockefeller founded the Business Committee for the Arts in New York to ensure the development and growth of the arts in America.

In 1979, Montgomery, Alabama-based Blount, Inc. was awarded a National Business in the Arts Award for its support of the arts.  As a result, Wynton M. “Red” Blount, Chairman of Blount, Inc., returned to Montgomery and along with help from Bobby Weil, Sr. and the late Frank Plummer, founded our local Montgomery Area Business Committee for the Arts known today as the MABCA.

The MABCA was the very first affiliate created in the United States and had a mission in mind to provide businesses with the services needed to develop strategic alliances with the arts and arts education that would meet business objectives, foster creativity in the arts and the workplace and enhance the quality of life for the community.

Over 30 years later, many things have changed, but MABCA’s commitment to bringing businesses and the arts community together has remained the same.

MABCA Executive Director

Ashley Ledbetter Executive DirectorAshley DuBose Ledbetter
Email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
Phone: 334-263-2224

Ashley Ledbetter is the Executive Director for the Montgomery Area Business Committee for the Arts (MABCA). A native of Montgomery, Ashley graduated from the Montgomery Academy and obtained her undergraduate degree in the School of Liberal Arts from Auburn University and an M.B.A. from the University of Alabama at Birmingham. Upon graduation from UAB, Ashley worked with Baptist Health and BlueCross and BlueShield of Alabama. Prior to joining the MABCA in 2003, she served for 7 years as the Executive Director of Central Alabama Management Services Organization (CAMSO) in Montgomery, a regional medical MSO.

Board of Directors

Ret. Col. Albert A. Allenback
Brad Armagost
G. Carlton Barker
Ronald C. Brown, Jr.
Mark P. Bunting
William D. Coleman
Gene C. Crane
A. Bruce Crawford
R. Guy Davis, Jr.
Arthur DuCote
John H. Foshee
Michael E. Galvin
Mayor Bill Gillespie (EX-OFFICIO)
Rusty Gregory
Barrie H. Harmon, III
Caryn C. Hughes
Lance Hunter
Rhon Jones
Mayor Al Kelley (EX-OFFICIO)
Pete Knight, Jr.
John W. “Billy” Livings
Sam Munnerlyn
Lee Parks
Bruce Reid
Jim L. Ridling (EX-OFFICIO)
Joe B. Riley
Sheron J. Rose
Dr. Quinton T. Ross, Jr.
Robert F. Runkle
Justice William B. Sellers
J. Mark Snead, Jr.
Bolling P. Starke, III
Mayor Todd Strange
Jimmy Stubbs
Russell Tyner
Bob Vardaman
William E. Wallace
Cleo Washington
J. Cameron West
George R. Wilder
Mayor Jerry Willis (EX-OFFICIO)

Robert S. Weil, Sr. (1919-2016, DIRECTOR EMERITUS)
Wynton M. Blount (1921-2002, FOUNDER)